Bunches.co.uk Reviews

4.66 Rating 159,230 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Bunches.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.85 out of 5
Read Bunches.co.uk Reviews

About Bunches.co.uk:

Bunches.co.uk are the leading online florist delivering fresh flowers for meaningful moments to every address in the UK from only £17 including free delivery. Bunches have successfully delivered over 10 million gifts since being founded in 1989. They are based in Newstead Village, Nottinghamshire.

Visit Website

Phone:

01623 750343

Email:

flowers@bunches.co.uk

Location:

Unit 19 Hazelford Way
Newstead Village
Nottingham
NG15 0DQ, ,

Disappointing and over priced, wouldn't use this service again
Helpful Report
Posted 5 days ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 4 days ago
Quite disappointed actually, thought they looked like something from a petroleum station . Sorry but quite upset.
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
Nothing like in the picture. And £25 not worth it....
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
Delivered on the wrong day. I emailed twice but didn't get a reply
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that your gift didn't arrive on the date you would have liked. We will be in touch with you very soon about this. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Kind Regards Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
Flowers arrives 6 days late!
Helpful Report
Posted 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
I was not impressed with the service as my Aunt did not receive the flowers till 6pm when her birthday tea was over.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear the gift arrive later than you would have liked. We can see that the gift arrived at 17:09, we do explain in our delivery terms that gifts arrive between 8am-6pm. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Kind Regards Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
The flowers coming on time and the brownie I ordered with the flowers were the only good things about this. Flowers looked nothing like they did in the picture and thought they’d be lovely for mine and my girlfriends 2 year anniversary. Never been so disappointed by a bunch of flowers, I’d honestly recommend anyone to get a bunch of flowers from a petrol garage before purchasing on here. The smallest bunch of flowers I’ve ever bought n for the price absolutely disgusting. Would not recommend
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 1 week ago
Arrived late so I’ll just stick to other delivery services I’ve used before that are always on time
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your gift didn't arrive on your selected date. Please pop us and email so we can review this further. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Kind Regards Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
Really poor flowers for the money.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
Felt embarrassed when I saw what had been delivered to my wife on her birthday. Had to go to Tesco’s to buy more flowers to bulk the arrangement out
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
Flowers were left down the side of the house for 2 days and when opened, half were dead and looked nothing like the picture. After contacting customer service I was simply told......that's how they are! Definitely won't be using again.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the flowers. After looking into the order we can see that you contacted us the morning after the delivery to say the flowers had been located and you were concerned the bunch appeared smaller than shown on our website and provided an image of the flowers. We informed you that our flowers are sent in bud and would need a little time to fully bloom, we also advise the guard petals would need to be removed. We do offer a 7 day freshness guarantee, therefore if the flowers didn't last please do not hesitate to contact us again. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Kind Regards Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
Apparently the flowers were refused on an attempt to deliver but the recipient says this is not so so I don’t know if they were taken to wrong address.
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
To be honest, really disappointed! I order from here for the first time and for a £30 bunch of flowers, it wasn’t what I expected and had better flowers for under £10 from a local shop! I complained and said stick with them and my wife ended up throwing away after 4 days when they weew gauranteed for a week. Really disappointed
Helpful Report
Posted 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear the flowers didn't last the 7 days of freshness we guarantee them for. We will be in touch with you very soon to make this right for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
Would have expected more flowers The Gyp was not that fresh. Will not use them again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 weeks ago
12 carnations for 26 quid. Not worth it.. Terrible customer service
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. However, we can see that you have been in touch with our customer support team and we advised for you to allow the buds to bloom and if you remind unhappy to contact us again. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
Totally misleading orders, with awful customer service. The bouquet had less than a quarter of flowers advertised. When I sent in a complaint, they basically said it would be ignored because it was more than 14 days after the order was made. What a disappointment! Never again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you have been unhappy with your order. As explained on our website we do require any complaint to be made within a 14 day period as it can be difficult for us to take this further with our supplier after this period. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Kind regards Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
I ordered roses for my wife’s 3rd wedding anniversary on 18th sept and they all fell apart in 3-4 days and they all were disposed of on the 5th day and they didn’t look nice, they were also left outside without us knowing until I received a text
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear the flowers didn't last the 7 days of freshness we guarantee them for. We will be in touch with you very soon to make this right for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
Flowers arrived ok but within a couple of days they were had died. Not very happy.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. However, we can see that you have been in touch with our customer support team and this issue has now been resolved. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
Very very disappointed! Delivered a day late. Have had letterbox flowers before but these were awful, never picked up once in water and we’re just wilted!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear the flowers didn't last the 7 days of freshness we guarantee them for. We will be in touch with you very soon to make this right for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
Have used bunches before and been really pleased with them. So used them again to send them some flowers for my mums birthday. However this time they haven’t lasted a week while other flowers she received are still going strong.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear the flowers didn't last the 7 days of freshness we guarantee them for. We will be in touch with you very soon to make this right for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 weeks ago
Bunches.co.uk is rated 4.66 based on 159,230 reviews