Bunches.co.uk Reviews

4.66 Rating 160,957 Reviews
92 %
of reviewers recommend Bunches.co.uk
Merchant Metrics
Shipping & Delivery
Delivery Methods
Postal Service
Average Delivery Time
Next Day
On-time Delivery
95%
Accurate And Undamaged Orders
96%
Customer Service
Communication Channels
Telephone, Email, Live Chat
Queries Resolved In
Under An Hour
Customer Service
4.85 out of 5
Read Bunches.co.uk Reviews

About Bunches.co.uk:

Bunches.co.uk are the leading online florist delivering fresh flowers for meaningful moments to every address in the UK from only £19 including free delivery. Bunches have successfully delivered over 10 million gifts since being founded in 1989. They are based in Newstead Village, Nottinghamshire.

Visit Website

Phone:

01623 750343

Email:

flowers@bunches.co.uk

Location:

Unit 19 Hazelford Way
Newstead Village
Nottingham
NG15 0DQ, ,

Half of the flowers died and did not bloom
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 2 months ago
I have this before and I will say it again, your flowers are wonderful but your web site is rubbish. Once again today I have tried to send flowers to a deserving friend and your site refuses to accept the password I have and won't let me change it because you say I already have a password. If this last bunch of flowers doesn't arrive you are history.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your email. We are sorry you are experiencing difficulties changing your password. We will be in touch shortly to help you with this. Kind Regards Bunches.
Posted 3 months ago
Poor value for money. I can get larger bouquets at the supermarket for a quarter of the price yet the same quality!
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Delivery was a day late and after my mother’s birthday
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry your gift didn't arrive as expected, we will be in touch with you very soon regarding this issue. Please accept our sincere apologies for any disappointment this matter may have caused. Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Bought some flowers for my wife for our anniversary and they lasted about a day before starting to turn brown. Not impressed at quality.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your recent disappointment. We take great care and pride in packaging our blooms to make sure that our customers receive the best quality possible, so we are sorry that you have been let down on this occasion. We would love to try and make this up to you, therefore we will be in touch with your shortly. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
The ordering process was easy. Delivery was as requested. However, the quality of the flowers was very disappointing. Within 48 hours of delivery all of the roses had turned brown and had to be thrown away on day 3.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your recent disappointment. We take great care and pride in packaging our blooms to make sure that our customers receive the best quality possible, so we are sorry that you have been let down on this occasion. We would love to try and make this up to you, therefore if you would like to get in touch with our team on flowers@bunches.co.uk with some more information we would be happy to take a look and make this right.
Posted 3 months ago
I ordered the Rose and Lily Bouquet for my wife for our anniversary. The Roses were not in great shape when it arrived and were looking worse for wear after 48 hours. The Lillies were in bud when it arrived and only started coming out after the roses were limp and pretty dead so the bouquet looked sparse when it arrived de to the Lillies being in bud and then sparse later on due to no roses. They never looked like the picture and never would if the roses only last 2 days. The Lillies are lovely though and still going strong after 7 days, I bought my wife another bunch of flowers and we have put the Lilles in with them. The first time I have used bunches and to be honest I don't think I would use them again unfortunately
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Arrived on time, looked nice, but in 2 days most of the flowers had really dropped. Didn’t last the week. Probably a one off, but first time I’d use them so not great.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review We are sorry to hear the flowers didn't last the 7 days of freshness we guarantee them for. We will be in touch with you very soon to make this right for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Very poor quality. Last bouquet I ordered went to the bin after barely three days. Definitely won’t be ordering again even for half price is not worth it.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that your blooms arrived looking disappointing, that's never what we want. We always hope to deliver happiness with our flowers. We take great care in preparing and packaging our bouquets so that they arrive to our customers in the best possible condition. We are sorry that this has not been the case on this occasion, If you could please get in touch with our team on flowers@bunches.co.uk with some more information we would be happy to take a look and make this right. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
some stems dried out needed some water also a day late for my mothers 97th birthday
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are so sorry to hear that your blooms arrived looking disappointing, that's never what we want. We always hope to deliver happiness with our flowers. We take great care in preparing and packaging our bouquets so that they arrive to our customers in the best possible condition. We are sorry that this has not been the case on this occasion, If you could please get in touch with our team on flowers@bunches.co.uk with some more information we would be happy to take a look and make this right. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
The flowers got delivered next day 10/10 but the package itself wasn’t good atall flowers weren’t in good presentation
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
The flowers were sent to the wrong depot and were delivered a day late. As they were not kept in water I dont think they arrived in peak condition. I had previously heard good reviews about bunches, however my experience was not good.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Wasn’t happy with these. Yes they arrived on time but were meant to be closed buds. Also didn’t look very nice
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey. The bouquet of choice was not from our hand tied arrangement and would need to be arranged and given time to bloom to resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Freesias. We’re wilted never. Perked up - dry disappointed first purchase will not buy again.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of your recent disappointment. We take great care and pride in packaging our blooms to make sure that our customers receive the best quality possible, so we are sorry that you have been let down on this occasion. We would love to try and make this up to you, therefore we will be in touch with your shortly. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Sadly the bouquet received was far from the advertised image. About half the size and didn’t contain all the flowers expected.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Delivered on time, ordering easy. Flowers not in bud and were classed as sad by the recipient. 😕
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. If you would like to pop an email over to flowers@bunches.co.uk or call us on 01623 750343 with further information, we will be happy to look into this further for you. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Lovely flowers however the additional candle and decorative flowers I ordered for my mums birthday never arrived. Also no reply of Bunches when I enquired about this. Quite disappointed.
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you have been disappointed with your recent flower gift. However, we can see that you have been in touch with our customer support team and this issue has now been resolved. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Arrived a day late and so missed the birthday they were intended for. Ordered freesias for their scent but they had no smell. Would not use again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear your gift arrived later than expected. We will be in touch with you shortly regarding this. Kind Regards Bunches.
Posted 3 months ago
Nice flowers but small bunch for the price not impressed sent 2 different ones and both were disappointing in the size and number of flowers
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you were unhappy with the bouquet that arrived. Most of our flowers are sent in bud to maximise vase life and limit damage during their journey, therefore they do need a little time to bloom and resemble our online image. Please accept our apologies for any disappointment this has caused. Kind Regards - Bunches
Posted 3 months ago
Flowers were of a poor quality when they arrived and looked nothing like the picture on the website. Once I complained and attached pictures to show the quality customer service weren't helpful at all. Wouldn't buy from here again
Helpful Report
Posted 3 months ago
Bunches.co.uk is rated 4.66 based on 160,957 reviews